If I’m Not Crafting, I Might Be Baking…

It’s the weekend. That means that if any cooking is going to happen at our house at all this week, now is the time it will occur. And here’s what we often make. This is, without doubt, the BEST lemon muffin recipe in the Whole Wide World!
I have posted it on my blog before and that post still gets a gazillion hits a week because it’s such a great recipe.

They may not look especially special, but let me tell you that not only are they scrumdiddlyumptious, they are so easy that a DOG could make them.

Lemon Muffins (like the kind you get in New Zealand cafes)
2 Cups self raising flour
3/4 Cup sugar (too much in my opinion. I use 1/2 Cup)
75 gm butter
1 Cup milk
1 egg
zest from two lemons (big suckers – you want LOTS of zest)

Topping
1/4 Cup sugar
1/4 Cup lemon juice (again, I use a little more juice so it’s not sweet)

lemon muffins

Preheat oven to 200 C. Mix flour and sugar together in a large bowl.
Melt butter.
Mix egg, milk and lemon zest together. Add cooled butter.
Add liquid ingredients to dry ingredients and combine VERY gently until lightly mixed. This is the important part. There will be lumps, there will be wet bits. Ignore them. G E N T L E.

Spoon into greased muffin tins.
If you have been to a New Zealand cafe, you will know that muffin tins only come in ONE size – HUGE. Do not sully this recipe by making those eaten-in-one-bite atrocities. Unless you feel slightly nauseous after eating one of these muffins, you have NOT made them big enough.

Bake for about 15 minutes.(While this is happening, husband should be making his superb coffee.)
Stir together topping and drizzle over hot muffins.

Here the recipe and I seriously depart from one another. It says, “Cool and place on wire rack.”
Wrong. Pry gently from tin while still steaming, burning fingertips.
Eat over plate (to catch crumbs) with large mug of strong coffee.
Fight teenagers for last muffin (despite already feeling ill).
Pour more coffee.
Contemplate making another batch this afternoon.

Originally found at www.foodlovers.co.nz and now so familiar we consider it family.

kirsty-signature

8 Responses to “If I’m Not Crafting, I Might Be Baking…”


  1. 1 peppermintpatcher March 28, 2009 at 6:56 am

    make another batch and hide them in a secret location until Monday night. I’ll help you eat them…

  2. 2 helen March 28, 2009 at 9:56 am

    The basic muffin recipe (minus the lemon zest) you have used is very similar to one I have that uses rhubarb. And let me tell you they are just as scrumdidilyumptious as the lemon ones. The rhubarb is put in raw, just cut up into small bits like celery. I sprinkle sugar on top before baking. Mmmm, now where’s the rhubarb?

    • 3 twolimeleaves March 28, 2009 at 10:11 am

      Yum! That sounds good! I love rhubarb. It can be a bit tricky to find here (too hot), but it’s not as bad as out west – I once saw a sad little tray of wilted rhubarb for more than $8

  3. 4 Maureen March 28, 2009 at 1:43 pm

    Popped over from Tracey’s blog! Will forward this recipe to myself! I have no idea what self-raising flour is but I think I need to find some!!

    • 5 twolimeleaves March 29, 2009 at 12:42 am

      Hi Maureen
      SR flour is just plain (all purpose) flour that has had a raising agent (baking powder) already added to it. You can substitute plain flour and add baking powder according to the recommended quantities (usually two level tsp per cup of flour, although some brands of baking powder say just one per cup).

  4. 7 quiltedthrifted April 4, 2009 at 1:04 pm

    I am going to try this today. I had to do some conversions. 75gm is equal to 1/3 cup and 200C is 400F. If anyone comes up with anything different please let me know. This looks so good.


Leave a Reply

